Student Success Snapshot – Cecily Ochsner

10-THINGS-U-SHOULD-KNOW-cecilySAMSUNG

Major: Radiologic technology

Expected graduation: May 2015

Why did you return to school after being out so long? “I wanted to complete my education so I can get a decent job with higher pay.”

Is it challenging being a non-traditional student? “No, because I have more life experience, so it is not intimidating and now I study harder, participate, and do my homework. I’m not as fast as some of these kids but I’ll get there.”

Where do you see yourself professionally in five years? “Working as a radiation therapist.”

What did you learn last semester that sticks out the most? “I learned how to study and write papers.”

What makes you laugh? “Life. You can’t take life to seriously.”

What issue is going on the world that bothers you the most right now? “The fact that people are starving in the U.S. and don’t have enough food to eat.”

What would you do if you won a million dollars from a lottery? “Part of it I would use for myself and the rest of it I would give to the city for our next generation’s education.”

What is your favorite TV show? “Jeopardy.”

Dee Shedrick

Dee Shedrick

Bonus questions:

If you were a flower, what type of flower would you be? “I would be a bird of paradise, because it’s hearty and it blooms for weeks.”

What is the first thing you do when you wake up in the morning? “I thank God for being alive.”

What is your favorite thing to do or place to go in New Orleans? “Play with my animals and Christmas in the Oaks.”

Name one of your bad habits? “I talk too much.”

What is your best attribute? “I love people.”

*For more Student Success stories click here

Leave a Reply

