Student Success Snapshot – Rosalind Davis

10-THINGS-U-SHOULD-KNOWrosalind 3

 

 

 

Major: “Performance and media arts with a concentration in theatre.”

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? “An attorney.”

When you are not in class, what are you doing? “Doing real estate work, spending time with family and church activities.”

What is your favorite place to study or eat around campus? “Student Life Center.”

Who is your favorite teacher/mentor? “Deb Kohler because she kept me focused on my education when my mother passed recently.”

What is your favorite class? “Acting class.”

If you were a superhero what would be your superpower name and power? “My nickname just happens to be Star, so my superhero’s name would be Star Power and my superhero’s power would be to uplift and encourage others and to help them become stars.”

What is one thing that you like about yourself? “My refusal to give up, my determination and my drive.”

What are you most proud of? “My children, I have two daughters that are students in the EMT program here at Delgado Community College and one daughter graduating from nursing school in Baton Rouge.”

Where do you see yourself in five years? “Hosting a talk show, owning a real estate company and travelling across the country.”

Dee Shedrick

Dee Shedrick

Bonus: What advice would you give to prospective and current students? “I would say that you should never give up on your dreams, it’s never too late to return to school, and rise above any obstacles that stand in the way of you reaching your goals. I am 49 years old and I was faced with the same goals to pursue my education. I was a 9th grade dropout, a teenage mother, cancer survivor and I struggled financially most of my life. However today, I am a full-time student, an aspiring actress, a real estate broker, a published poet and a motivational speaker.”

For more Student Success Stories click here

Leave a Reply

