Student Success Snapshot – Vonda Labruno Murphy

10-THINGS-U-SHOULD-KNOWVonda pic

Current status and major: “Freshman at Delgado Northshore. Child psychology.”

Vonda is a unique name, does it stand for anything, and were you named after someone? “I was named after my grandmother her name was spelled differently. Her name was Vondallee and my name is spelled Vondaleigh.”

If money was no object, what would you be doing with your life? “I think I’m doing exactly what I would do if money wasn’t an object. Psychology is a field focused on helping others overcome hardships in life. I would also want to get into Ministry.”

How do you handle raising four children and going to school? “Honestly I don’t know, I kind of wing it. I totally give God the credit for strengthening me daily. I stay very active with all of my kids in sports. I’m even a team mom for my twins T-ball team. I guess God has giving me a very strong passion to be a good mother and in order for me to do so I must set a good example and what better way than succeeding in college.”

What do you do to relax? “I don’t at this point in my life. I guess there’s no time for relaxation. I do enjoy watching Joyce Myers Ministries, American Idol and X Factor.”

What is the most difficult thing you have ever had to deal with? “The hardest thing I have ever been through by far is losing my first child Vanessa Ann Brunet of Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) when she was seven months old. This past April made 13 years ago that she passed away. I have come a long way in 13 years after losing her. I took some wrong paths in life in the past.”

What would you like to change about the world? “I would like to see more churches and organizations reach out to foster children and their families. These children need to know that they are important and loved.”

What is your favorite time of year? “Spring is beautiful and I love rain.”

What song is included on the soundtrack to your life? “I am redeemed by Big Daddy Weave.”

What accomplishment are you most proud of? “Looking back on my upbringing, my biggest accomplishment is overcoming so many obstacles and becoming the woman and mother that I am. Also not only over coming those things, but the vision I have to use my pain to help others overcome their challenges.”

Dee Shedrick

Dee Shedrick

Bonus question: What will you do after you graduate from Delgado? “I will be transferring to Southeastern University to complete the master’s program. Then I will be working with children and adults striving to restore their hope, happiness, trust and well-being.”

For more Student Success Stories click here

Leave a Reply

