NOLA In Chi-Town

Dee Shedrick

Dee Shedrick

While on my recent trip to Chicago, I turned on the radio and started changing the channel in my hotel room to listen to a local station and I hear the Neville Brothers singing “Fire on the Bayou.” While visiting the Navy Pier, one of Chicago’s most popular tourist attractions, I observed a brass band playing for the droves of people strolling by. And finally, as I waited for my plane at the O’Hare airport, the overhead system played “Summertime” by Aaron Neville. I thought that I was getting away from New Orleans for a few days to visit Chicago, but instead I found a few elements of The Big Easy in the Windy City.

Chicago Theatre

Chicago Theatre

Being surrounded by water, festivals, old bridges, and bumpy streets were just some of the things I found similar to New Orleans while visiting Chicago. I also found the Chicagoans to be very friendly, down to earth, and not in a huge rush (unlike two other major cities I won’t call out by name.) I had three days filled with self-guided tours and sight-seeing, but that was hardly enough time to take in everything the city had to offer. As I mentioned earlier I went to the Navy Pier and Millennium Park. I ate at a restaurant called Feast in a neighborhood called Wicker Park. I walked along Lakeshore Drive and Michigan Avenue and I saw the famous Chicago Theatre.

Building downtown and Chicago Tribune

Building downtown and Chicago Tribune

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a beautiful thing to hear the sounds of New Orleans, but I was worried for a brief moment that I wouldn’t get a sense of being out-of-town. Eventually, I was amazed by the old skyscrapers and the unique architecture, and it was clear to me that I was not in the South anymore. Next time I visit (yes, I will be going back to visit again!) I will have more time to visit a few more neighborhoods, have more dining experiences, and take in some Jazz. This trip was a good introduction and I look forward to visiting Chicago again, and rest assured, it won’t be during the winter time!

 

Chicago River

Chicago River

The "L"

The “L”

Founder of Chicago, Jean Baptiste Point du Sable

Founder of Chicago, Jean Baptiste Point du Sable

2 thoughts on “NOLA In Chi-Town

Leave a Reply

